Grade 2: Ms. Hesse

Home > Classrooms > Grade 2: Ms. Hesse

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Wishing you all a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Tuesday, November 21

-Social Studies-pg. 59 question 2 and pg. 71 questions 1 and 3. All work should be done in the social studies notebook.  It is not necessary to write the questions.

-Reading test on Tuesday, November 28-see study sheet in planner

-Social Studies test on Wednesday, November 29-see study sheet in planner

Monday, November 20. 2017

-Math test tomorrow

-Science test tomorrow

 

Friday, November 17, 2017

-Math-pgs. 145 and 146

-All Book Reports due on Monday, November 20

-Math and Science tests on Tuesday, November 21

-Spanish-study numbers 1-5

Have a lovely weekend!

Thursday, November 16, 2017

-Math-pgs. 139, 140, and 143

-ELA-Spelling test tomorrow

-Science-pg. 41-questions 1, 2, and 3

 

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

-Math-test on Tuesday-see study sheet in planner

-Science test on Tuesday-see study sheet in planner

We all had a wonderful trip to the National Math Museum!!

 

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

-Math-pgs. 133 and 134

Class trip tomorrow!  All students must wear full uniforms.  They should bring a snack and lunch.  The students will eat snack before the trip, and they will eat lunch when we return.  

Monday, November 13, 2017

-Math-pgs. 127 and 128

-ELA-“Superkids” workbook-pgs. 36 and 37

-ELA-test on adjectives tomorrow

-Writing worksheet on Thanksgiving

-Social Studies-worksheets

-Gym tomorrow

-See information about class trip in planner

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

-Math–pg. 125

-ELA-Spelling write a sentence with each spelling word, spelling test on Friday, November 17

-ELA-Test on adjectives on Tuesday

-Science-cut out animals that are on the 2 worksheets the students were given, put each animal in one of the 6 animal classifications, each student has a set of 6 index cards-each card has an animal classification written on it (ex. mammal, reptile).   Also, in the science book, answer questions 1, 2, and 3 on pg. 33 and questions 1, 2 and 3 on pg. 35.  Write the questions and answers in the science notebook. 

Have a wonderful weekend!

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Math-pgs. 119 and 122

ELA-Spelling-write each spelling word three times each

ELA-Reading test tomorrow

Monday, November 6, 2017

-ELA-worksheet

-ELA-reading test on Wednesday

-Gym tomorrow

Friday, November 3, 2017

-Math test on Monday-see study sheet in planner

-Book Report due on Monday, November 20-see information sheet in planner

Have a wonderful weekend! 

 

Thursday, November 2, 2017

-Math-pgs. 109, 110, and 113

-Math test on Monday-see study sheet in planner

-ELA-Reading test on Wednesday-see study sheet in planner

-Please return signed progress reports by Friday, November 3.

-Please send in signed permission slips for upcoming class trip by Friday, November 3

-12:00 p.m. dismissal tomorrow

 

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

-Math-pgs. 103, 104, and 107

ELA-reading worksheet

-Please return signed progress reports by Friday, November 3. 

-Please return signed permission slips  for upcoming class trip by Friday, November 3. 

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

All Saints Day school Mass tomorrow.  All students must wear full uniforms unless they are dressing up like a Saint.

Have a wonderful Halloween!  Thank you so much for all your generous donations of Halloween goodies!! 

 

Monday, October 30, 2017

-Math-pgs. 97, 98 and 101

ELA-worksheet

-Class Halloween party tomorrow- students may wear costumes to school.  No props or masks are permitted.  Students should wear sneakers to school tomorrow.  

-All Saints Day project due tomorrow

-There will be no “Lets Code It”  class tomorrow.

 

Friday, October 27, 2017

-All Saints Day project due by Tuesday, October 31

Have a lovely weekend!

 

Thursday, October 26, 2017

-Math-pgs. 91 and 92

-Social Studies-worksheet

 

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

-Math-worksheet

-Spelling test tomorrow-students will also be writing several sentences

Tuesday,  October 24, 2017

-Math-worksheet

-Religion-test tomorrow-see study sheet in planner

 

Monday, October 23, 2017

-Math-pg. 86

-ELA-worksheets

-Gym tomorrow

 

Friday, October 20, 2017

-Religion test on Wednesday, October 25-see study sheet in student’s folder

-Religion-project on “All Saints Day-“see letter and worksheet in student’s folder

-Spelling-test on Thursday

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

Thursday, October 19, 2017

-Math-pgs. 77 and 80

-ELA-Spelling-write a sentence with each spelling word

-Individual picture day tomorrow-all students should dress up!

Holy Communion Information Meeting tonight, in English, at 8pm in the church

 

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

-ELA-Spelling-write each new spelling word 3 times each

-Social Studies-worksheet-test on Friday-refer to study sheet in planner

Class pictures tomorrow-students should be in full uniforms

 

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

-Social Studies-worksheet-Test on Friday, October 20,-see study sheet in planner

 

Monday, October 16, 2017

-Math test tomorrow

-Gym tomorrow

There will be a First Communion information meeting, in Spanish, tomorrow evening at 8:00 pm in the church.  

 

Friday, October 13, 2017

-Math test on Tuesday, October 17-see math study sheet in planner

-Class trip on Monday-students should wear gym uniforms and bring lunch 

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

Thursday, October 12, 2017

-Math-pgs. 65-66

-Science test tomorrow on “plants”

-ELA test tomorrow on “nouns” and “verbs”

Please read the letter that was sent home today regarding our trip on Monday, October 16.  All students must bring lunch and must wear their gym uniforms.  

A letter was sent home yesterday to the parents of all those children who will be receiving their First Communion.  The original dates of the information meetings have been changed.  There will be an information meeting, in Spanish, on Tuesday, October 17 at 8:00 pm in the church.  There will be also  be a meeting, in English, on Thursday, October 19 at 8:00 pm in the church.  

 

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

-Math-pg. 63

-Phonics-worksheet

-ELA-Test on nouns and verbs on Friday

-Science test on Friday-see study sheet in student’s planner-students may keep science books home until Friday

 

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

-Math-pgs. 59 and 60

-Science-worksheet, science test on Friday-see study sheet in planner

 

Friday, October 6, 2017

-finish Halloween acrostic poem

-gym on Tuesday

Have a lovely weekend!

 

Thursday, October 5, 2017

-Math-pg. 57

-ELA-worksheet

-12 p.m. dismissal tomorrow, children will attend the school Mass at 9:00 a.m.-all students should be in full uniforms

-All children who are attending after school tomorrow, must bring lunch

 

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

-Math-pgs. 53 and 54

-Social Studies-worksheet

-Spelling-test tomorrow-students will be asked to also write several sentences

 

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

-Math worksheet

-ELA-“Superkids” workbook pg. 17

 

Monday, October 2, 2017

-Math-pgs. 47-48

-Spelling-test on Thursday-students will also be writing several sentences

-Gym tomorrow

Friday, September 29, 2017

-All students should wear full regular uniforms beginning Monday.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Thursday, September 28, 2017

-ELA-worksheet

-Religion test tomorrow

 

Wednesday, September 17, 2017

-Study for math test

-Dress down tomorrow $1

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

-Math worksheet

-Religion worksheet-religion test on Friday, see study sheet in student’s planner

-Field Trip letter in student’s folder

Monday, September 25, 2017

-Math-pgs. 40 and 42-math test on Thursday-see study sheet in student’s folder

-Spelling-write each new spelling work 3 times each

-Gym tomorrow-students should wear gym uniforms

-Candy sale begins today!!!

 

Friday, September 22, 2017

Spanish-write the first five words in Spanish and once in English 

study the works

Thursday, September 21, 2017

-Math-pg. 36

-Science-answer question about plants in the science notebook

Wednesday, September 20

-Phonics test tomorrow on consonants

-Math-pg. 34

Social Studies-worksheet

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

-Math-pgs. 29 and 30

-Phonics-worksheet

-Spelling test tomorrow

Monday, September 18, 2017

-Math-pgs. 23 and 24

-ELA/Spelling-write sentences with the last 6 spelling words in the ELA notebook

-Spelling test on Wednesday

-Phonics test on Thursday

Friday, September 15, 2017

-Spelling test on Wednesday

-Phonics test on consonants on Thursday

-It was wonderful meeting you all on Thursday evening!  Have a lovely weekend, and enjoy our school’s 100th birthday on Saturday!!

 

Thursday, September 14,  2017

****Due Monday 9/18/17

– Math pages 17 and 18

– Spanish finish classwork and study the first 4 words

 

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

-ELA-Worksheet

-Phonics-pgs. 14 and 15

-Math-pgs. 14 and 16

I am looking forward to meeting you all tomorrow night at our “Meet the Teacher” night beginning at 7p.m.

 

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

-ELA-Spelling-write each spelling words 3 times each

 

Monday, September 11, 2017

-Math-worksheet

-Phonics book-pgs. 8, 10, and 12

-Gym class tomorrow-all students come in dressed in gym uniforms

 

Friday,  September 8, 2017

-Please read After School information letter that was sent home

-Please read the letter from the music teacher, Mrs. Pulick, that was also sent home

-All special classes for the 2nd grade will begin next week.

         Monday-Spanish

        Tuesday-Gym ( Students should wear gym uniforms to school.)

        Thursday-Art

        Friday-Music & Computer

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

 

 

Thursday, September 7, 2017

I would like to welcome you all to second grade!! It is going to be a very exciting year! I look forward to meeting you all on Thursday, September 14.

Please read the 2 information sheets regarding computer class that are in the student’s folder.  Please return to me by tomorrow.

Students will begin to write in their planners on Monday, September 11.  They will copy all homework assignment daily.   I will check the planner to be sure all homework and announcements are copied correctly.  Also, all homework and important dates and announcements will also b